Madelinetosh and my baby knitting philosophy

October 24, 2011 at 8:08 pm 4 comments

Lacey Baktus

A new favorite yarn at the Polka Dot Sheep and the Knit ‘n Needle Yarn Shoppe is the Madelinetosh line. We have two of the most popular yarn weights available. In the Tosh Sock, currently there are 26 colorways in stock. In the DK weight, there are 14 colorways in stock. The dying of this yarn is rather unique and knits up without pooling in the variegated colorways. If you are a Malabrigo Lover, you are sure to love Madelinetosh. They are so different yet addictive in the same way.

I have recently finished two projects with Madelinetosh yarn. The first project is pictured above, the Lacey Baktus (Ravelry link). I absolutely love this colorway, Robin’s Egg. It is such a happy color without being too sweet or loud. This little scarf is a thank you gift for someone special who loves scarves as an accessory.

A sweet little vest for a good friend’s new baby boy is my other completed project. The pattern is the very popular Milo vest, available for purchase as a Ravelry download. I made the 6 month size but I deliberately knit it at a slightly tighter gauge. I used less than one skein of Madelintosh DK in the Silver Fox colorway. I think he will look very handsome in this color especially since he has very dark hair.

Milo vest

I know that some may say that a lovely yarn like this isn’t practial for a baby or it is too expensive. But as a mommy I will tell you, superwash wool isn’t any more difficult to care for than other nice baby clothes. I simply wash it gently in the machine  with cool water and let the item dry flat on top the dryer. As to the cost, this yarn is the same price as a big box of diapers (sad I know) but so much nicer and honestly you will have a pleasant time knitting the gift and the mommy will love the gift. We all know babies need diapers but they aren’t nearly as much fun to buy or receive.

What do you think about my baby gift  knitting philosophy? What yarns do you use for gifts? More importantly, have you tried any Madelinetosh yarns? Let us know what you think and feel free to share your  projects on our Facebook page.

Happy knitting for others or yourself!

~ Angela M.

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Projects, Yarn. Tags: , , , , , , .

Featured Pattern: Off Piste NEW! Free pattern: Charlie’s Sock Yarn Hat

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aimee  |  October 24, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Very true about superwash yarns being so easy to care for. I have store bought dresses that I have a harder time laundering than my handknits.

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel A.  |  November 23, 2011 at 11:52 am

    Think it all depends on the family you’re gifting to…say, if they have a BUNCH of little kids (who might actually be doing the laundry), I’d go with the acrylic blend (I know, I know, dirty word….). But it is so discouraging to be a mother of a new one and discover that you (or someone else) has forgotten to remove an item before they all got tossed in the dryer. And there ARE some more decent blends out there now…

    And hi, Angela! Jamie gave me the heads up on this site (surprise, surprise).

    Reply
    • 3. polkadotsheep.com  |  November 24, 2011 at 5:12 pm

      Hey there Rachel! Nothing wrong with acrylic blends here, we love our Berroco Vintage and Vintage DK. In fact, I would definitely make the vest in one of those yarns for many moms I know. Just know that at the Polka Dot Sheep we are well aware of little kid factor, just maybe not as experienced as you (hee, hee)

      Reply
  • 4. Spring 2013: Sea of Dreams KAL | polkadotsheep  |  March 22, 2013 at 9:13 am

    […] to share the room decorated in greys with his older brother. Incidentally, I knit the big brother a vest in grey. But new babies need their own hand knits too. So Malabrigo Arroyo in Plomo it […]

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


