Damask Shawl

February 29, 2012 at 3:00 pm 2 comments

 

Damask Shawl by Kitman Figueroa

I’ve been on quite the shawl kick lately.  Strange, too, because forever I didn’t wear them.  I knit them because I love the construction, the magic of blocking lace, and of course, sock yarn.  I probably knit 6 or 7 of them, donating them to prayer shawl ministries before I figured out that I indeed liked to wear them.  All it took was a  shawl pin to change my attitude!  Without a pin I was always fiddling with the shawl – tugging it this way and that – but once I secured the shawl in place with a pin, problem solved.  Now, I can’t imagine not having a shelf of shawls in my wardrobe!

My newest favorite shawl pattern is a design called Damask by Kitman Figueroa.  Hugely popular on Ravelry, Damask has a project gallery of over 650 shawls, telling us that the pattern is a clever is the design is beautiful.  I highly recommend this pattern for experienced knitters or intermediate knitters looking for a new challenge.  Just have your highlighter tape and chart keeper and you’ll be a happy knitter.

 The instructions are charted and written in three sizes for personal preference, and for yarn, may I suggest either Madelinetosh Sock or Malabrigo Sock in any semi-solid colorway.  You’ll need 1-2 skeins depending on your size, and a US 6 needle.

Damask Shawl pattern is available as an instant download.  Purchase the pattern and you’ll be ready to knit moments after checkout!

If you’ve never knit a shawl before, we have a Late Hours Shawl class coming up on Sunday March 18th from 1:00 – 4:00.  Late Hours is a great pattern for anyone new to lace and shawls.  Sign up now as class size is limited.

-Aimee

Entry filed under: Chit Chat, Patterns, Projects, Ravelry.

Featured Project: VAmom’s (Half) Arroway Sportweight yarn, what is it anyway?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jane Dalton  |  March 1, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    I would love to knit this but have very little experience in following this ellaborate of a pattern. Any chance you would offer a class for it? I am definitely interested.

    Thanks,
    Jane

    Reply
  • 2. Jane Dalton  |  March 1, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    I didn’t read all the way through! There is a class! Sweet.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


