May Knitting

May 2, 2012 at 3:44 pm Leave a comment

This time of year, many knitters slow down. The outdoors calls our names, gardens need to be planted, family vacations need to be planned, and so on and so forth. But just because it is warming up outside doesn’t mean knitting needs to stop. Warm weather knitting is a great time to explore new yarns or fibers.

What about trying  Berroco Linsey? It is a worsted cotton & linen blend yarn that comes both striping colors and solids. Last summer I made my daughter a tee in the Aquinnah colorway. While knitting with this blend is different from working with animal fibers, it is not unpleasant. I found it to be a good change for me. Even though the label instructions say to hand wash and dry flat, this tee has been through the washer and dryer multiple times. In fact, it has softened up like a pair of jeans does with a few washes.

In the last post, Aimee shared an adorable springtime project. After she made that little poncho, I had to make one for my daughter too. I also used BSA Worsted Cotton which is one of my favorite yarns and definitely my most favorite plant fiber yarn. My colors were (from top to bottom): Caribbean (630), Bone (80), Raspberry (637), and Mediterranean (632). With the 6-8 yo size, I used one full skein of each of the bottom colors. In the Caribbean on top with hood, I actually broken into a third skein. You will need that three skein for pom poms and drawstring for the hood , which I didn’t make for this project.

Entry filed under: Projects, Yarn. Tags: , , , , , , .

Springtime Project Idea! Sweet Baby Sweater

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 124 other followers


