Northman Mitten KAL: First time triumphs

February 3, 2013 at 1:46 pm 2 comments

Finished Northman mittens are starting to show up in the Ravelry thread to rave reviews by the makers themselves about comfort and warmth. While some participants are experienced stranded knitters, a number of us are using this technique for the first time. But you would never know that looking at their work. Below on the left is twincomet’s first mitten and on the right is bluecheese’s first mitten. Lovely, don’t you think?

Northman 1st timers

These mittens are also a great example of how different the same pattern will look using a light vs. dark color for the background (your main color).

I am still plugging away on my first mitten. Since I am using this KAL to learn various techniques, I decided to figure out how to catch my floats of yarn as I carry them along. The standard advice on catching your floats is to do it whenever you have to carry the yarn over a distance of 5 or more stitches. So in the Northman mittens there never is a place where your floats are that long. But I thought I might as well learn how to do it while I was learning how to knit with one color in each hand. Instead of trying to figure it out myself, I went looking for a video to help me. I found the video below which demonstrates how to catch your float when it is either your right hand or your left hand yarn. It was just what I wanted to know so I thought I would share it for those of you who might want to learn how to do these technique as well.

Another active member of our Ravelry group, mrsmommy, had a fun idea for her mitten. She knit the year 2013 into it. I have seen other knitters do this with their mittens but usually it is on the back of the mitten. Mrsmommy worked hers into the palm facing side of her thumb. It is a little hidden memento of the year and KAL.

Mrs.Mommy 2013 thumb-001

I love this idea and want to do it myself. Mrsmommy generously shared her chart. She says her thumb is a little tight so you might want to play around with it a bit and make sure to not pull your stitches tight. Thanks for sharing, Mrsmommy!

2013_chart_medium

Little side note about Mrsmommy, she is a very busy mommy of four little boys! I am not sure when she knits but she does and her projects are beautiful. Check out her blog!

Aimee (Polkadotsheep’s owner) has developed a bit of an obsession with these mittens. She admitted this week that she has started her third pair before she even finished her second pair. She is using Ultra Alpaca again in one of her favorite colors, perwinkle, along with winter white. Meanwhile she is stash busting Malabrigo lace by putting stripes in the liner for her husband’s pair of Northman Mittens (green and grey on the right).

Northman Aimee 2 & 3

Thanks for joining us for this update and hope you enjoy the helpful hints.

Other blog posts in this series:

Happy Knitting! Tune in later this week to hear me rave about my new favorite yarn!

~Angela M.

Entry filed under: KAL/CAL, Projects, Ravelry. Tags: , , , , .

NEW Polka Dot Sheep Pattern: Barleycove Knitting through the Mid Winter Blahs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Northman Mitten KAL: Many Beautiful Mittens | polkadotsheep  |  February 25, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    […] already highlighted in a previous post how Mrsmommy knitting the year “2013″  into her mittens’ […]

    Reply
  • 2. free shipping code shutterfly  |  November 6, 2014 at 6:52 am

    I am not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for magnificent info I was looking for this info for my mission.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


