Knitting through the Mid Winter Blahs

February 11, 2013 at 3:19 pm 3 comments

It happens most winters, I get hit with blah feeling about life somewhere in late January or February. Of course, most of us who live in places with winters know about this, lack of light, staying indoors too much, sicknesses. But this year it was a little more than it has been the last few years. So that is what last week was for me, between feeling sick myself, kids being sick, and a general lack of motivation.

One of the things I miss the most in the winter even when there is sunshine is colors. So colorful and vivid yarn is a really pick me up. A yarn that totally fulfills that color order is Sweet Georgia. Felicia Lo, the owner of Sweet Georgia posted this great video about the importance of color to her personally and in her work.

Interestingly, look back as I write I did get a fair bit of knitting done last week . It just feels like I didn’t because very little of the knitting was on my Northman Mittens. My hands have been bothering me and the new technique of knitting with two hands was not helping. As one of those anxious type people, when I am learning something new and concentrating hard, I tense my muscles. Of course, this is very counter productive. But in my blog reading last week, I am across two designers, Wendy Benard at Knit and Tonic and Ruth Garcia-Alcantud at rock + purl, talking about repetitive stress injuries and the hand, shoulder and neck aches associated with knitting. So I am in good company. I am going to share the links to their posts for you to share their wisdom. These blogs are great reads all the time, full of helpful information, beautiful patterns and Knit and Tonic has made me snort coffee out my nose more than once laughing.

Ruth’s thoughts, RSI and other fun at Rock + Purl

Wendy’s thoughts, And to Think I Thought Knitting Yoga was a Joke . . . Q & A and a Giveaway! at Knit and Tonic

There is still plenty of winter left for many of us, but spring is coming. For those of you who are ready to think spring and warm weather knitting, we now have Norah Gaughan Collection Vol. 12 in stock. I love how the cables of the cover sweater start at one cuff clear across to the other cuff. Purchase and download the entire pattern booklet at Polkadotsheep.

Norah Gaughan Vol 12

How do you beat the winter blahs? Tell us about it in the comments.

Keep on knitting happy!

~Angela M.

Entry filed under: Chit Chat. Tags: , , , , , .

Northman Mitten KAL: First time triumphs Yarn Review: Malabrigo Rios

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rockandpurl  |  February 12, 2013 at 12:31 am

    Oh yay, thank you for linking to me 🙂 I tend to stress when learning something new as well – so I try to remember “I’m a child, discovering everything” and relax into the action of learning, instead of stressing about getting it right, or perfect.

    Reply
    • 2. polkadotsheep.com  |  February 15, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      You are welcome. Your blog is one of my new personal favorites. I am learning so much!

      Reply
  • 3. Things Get Complicated | Kentucky Mountain Girl's Blog  |  February 20, 2013 at 11:21 am

    […] Knitting through the Mid Winter Blahs (polkadotsheep.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


