Knitting Foxes

March 8, 2013 at 5:00 am 2 comments

I recently read somewhere that foxes are the “new” owls. They certainly are popping up all over the place these days especially clothing for kids. I think there is something endless interesting in woodland creatures like foxes and owls. They aren’t particular exotic for those of us in North America especially the US and Canada, yet there is something special. Maybe it is because foxes and owls share that unique ability to appear at moments that just take your breath away. Anyway, foxes are cool!

IMG_7159-001

An true fox (and owls) lover!

After seeing this cool “Fantastic Mr. Fox” on Itty Bitty (it’s in French), I determined I wanted to make this little fox scarf for my daughter and son. The pattern on Ravelry is simply called Fox Scarf by Satu Dolk and Ossi Laine, the original is in Finnish and I used the English translation as my guide. I didn’t follow the pattern perfectly and used other people’s projects as inspiration for the snout, nose and ears. My foxes are chunkier because I wanted them to be finished fast as Valentine’s Day gifts, you can get this effect by double stranding a worsted weight yarn. But the fox is just as adorable as written.

IMG_7147-001

He really likes it, I promise!

I used Berroco Vintage in Pumpkin and Mochi for my little foxes. Their noses are made with a little grey Ultra Alpaca that I had from another project. I just knitted a few garter ridges at the end of the face where you will found to make the back flap of the head. The two color snouts were done with a very imprecise intarsia technique. Ears are made by seaming one triangle of each color together with the right sides facing out and then stitching down to the head. The eyes are old leather-covered buttons from the button jar  of one of my great grandmothers.

This little fox scarf would be a great gift for kids and those in your life who love a touch of whimsy. I thought originally that I would make my daughter’s scarf a grey fox but for the sake of peace I went with matching scarfs. But the faces still ended up looking somewhat different, probably that very imprecise colorwork that I was doing there.

I put together some other yarn recommendations for you if you would like to make one of these little foxes. Click on the pictures to be taken to the product pages.

Fox Scarf BSA cotton

Blue Sky Alpaca Worsted Cotton in Graphite, Bone or Pumpkin

Fox Scarf Comfort

Berroco Comfort in Dusk Grey, Ivory or Pumpkin

Fox Scarf Mal Worsted

Malabrigo Worsted in Comfy Junkie, Natural, or Cinnabar

The next time I make this little scarf I would really like to use the Malabrigo Worsted as the colorways are just more varied which would add some interesting character. But you really can not beat Berroco Vintage or Comfort and Blue Sky Alpaca Worsted Cotton for kids. They are machine washable and can be dried in the dryer. The BSA Cotton would great for a little one that lives somewhere it doesn’t really get too cold.

I really enjoyed these little projects. My kids really like them and are wearing them out to play in the snow. My daughter also will just wear it around the house. The foxes do invite lots of comments and my son is very sweet in informing people his mommy made it for him and his sissy.

So try something fun this week and make yourself or someone you love a wearable little fox.

Happy Knitting!

~Angela M.

Entry filed under: Patterns, Projects.

Spring Clean Along Spring Clean Along 2013: Making Progress

2 Comments Add your own

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


