Sea of Dreams KAL: Planning to Start

March 30, 2013 at 10:00 am 9 comments

Mrs. Mommy's Crawling SOD-001

Wow, lots of people are joining us in the upcoming Sea of Dreams Baby Blanket KAL! Missed what it is all about, here is the post explain everything, Spring 2013: Sea of Dreams KAL.

If you have purchased your pattern, you will see that the directions of the lace portion of the blanket are both written out and charted. Written out instructions are fairly straight forward. Familiarizing yourself with all abbreviation before you start knitting  is always a good idea.

One main skill you can tackle while participating in this KAL is learning to read knitting charts . I know the Northman Mittens had charts too. However, colorwork charts are often about colors and not so much about stitches. But they read the same way.

When you look over the charted instructions, be sure to read all the notes about the charts!

  • When knitting flat, in general, charts are read from right to left for right side rows (RS) and left to right on the wrong side rows (WS). Also the RS rows are odd-numbered and the WS are the even-numbered rows.
  • The Sea of Dreams chart has NO wrong side (WS) rows because they are all worked in the same manner.
  • You will read all the right side (RS) rows shown on the chart by the black arrow.

SOD KAL chart w arrowI find color coding charts to be very helpful for me. I assign one color per stitch type (or cable type when cabling). Now that I am using my Ipad for pattern reading, I highlighted my chart using the GoodReader app.  Highlighting isn’t exclusive to tablet pdf reader apps, I know computer based pdf readers such as Adobe Reader have it as well. But you can go old school (or like me four months ago), print your chart and get coloring. I find coloring has a nice therapeutic effect anyway, so coloring a knitting chart is very relaxing. I use colored pencils, but have used crayons in a pinch. Can you tell I live with kids?

See the red arrow pointing to the little blue box on the chart? That is how I keep track of my row in GoodReader. When using paper, I use highlighter tape. Highlighter tape is one of my all time favorite knitting tools. Don’t have any? Get some!

Jamie’s helpful note for you before starting is to consider your needle tips. If possible, choose the needles with more pointy tips. Pointy tips make working multiple stitches together like a knit 3 together easier. However, needle tips are a very individual choice and certainly won’t make or break your Sea of Dreams knitting experience. The Addi Lace needles are Polkadotsheep’s most pointy tipped needles. We stock them in the brass tipped fixed circulars in 24″32″ and 40″ cable lengths. The interchangeable Addi Click Lace kit has nickel coated tips like the Addi Turbos but the point of the Lace. I will be using my Addi Turbos for my project. But Jamie says if “The k3tog stitches start driving you crazy, consider lace tipped needles.”

I really encourage you to read over the entire Sea of Dreams pattern before you start. Aimee has included some helpful notes at the beginning and in the cream-colored boxes. Feel free to ask questions in the blog comments or in the Ravelry thread.

I swatched my Malabrigo Arroyo, a sport weight yarn,  to determine the needle size I wanted to use and what size blanket I wanted to cast on. Based upon my previous knowledge of working with Malabrigo Arroyo, I started the swatch with an US 6 / 4mm needle and switched in middle to US 5 / 3.75mm needle.

SOD swatch w text

I knit one complete repeat of the pattern, then washed and blocked the swatch before measuring. You can get by without swatching for blankets (or scarves) if you don’t need to be sure of your finished size. But it is always a good idea. When I swatched, I worked the two outside parts of the chart skipping over the middle section in the red box. I knew from the start that my gauge was not going to match the specified gauge of the Sea of Dreams. I wanted to know the width of the repeat in each needle size and the feel of the fabric. My width with an US 6 needles is 4.5″ (it could be blocked a little more severely if I wanted to) and the US 5 needles’ width is 4.125″. The fabric using the US 5 needles is firmer, you can see it if you compare the triangles of stitches between the yarn over holes to the US 6 side of the swatch. But I want the blanket to be more of a cuddly blanket than a keep warm blanket so I am going to go with the US 6 needles. I am casting on the stroller size Sea of Dreams. So according to my calculations, 4.5″ x 6 repeats = 27″ + (2 x ~1″ of border on each side) = 29″ total width when blocked. That is approximately the width of the crib size blanket knit to gauge of Sea of Dreams.

Are you ready to cast on? Tell us about your yarn choice and intended recipient in the blog comments or in the Ravelry thread. The Ravelry thread is already rolling with questions and yarn ideas.

Thanks for joining us here at the Polkadotsheep blog. We really appreciate you reading and participating with our activities.

Happy Knitting!

~Angela M.

Entry filed under: KAL/CAL, Needle & Notions, Patterns, Tutorials / How to. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Spring Clean Along 2013 Wrap Up Cast On for the Sea of Dreams Blanket KAL

9 Comments Add your own

  • […] Sea of Dreams KAL: Planning to Start […]

    Reply
  • 2. Helen Hindersman  |  April 2, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Angela,
    Don’t you mean right side rows are read from bottom right to left as the black arrow indicates? If you read the written instructions for the chart rows, they coincide with reading the chart from right to left.

    Reply
  • 3. Breaking the Birthday Knitting Vow | polkadotsheep  |  April 11, 2013 at 5:18 am

    […] I wonder if next week some more will have joined them. Read the KAL details in these posts (1, 2, 3, 4) here on the blog and chat with us on […]

    Reply
  • 4. Aimee Alexander Designs | polkadotsheep  |  April 18, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    […] Sea of Dreams KAL continues to move along well. A few participants have finished their blankets. Some have just […]

    Reply
  • 5. getiherbcouponcode.wordpress.com  |  September 20, 2013 at 3:03 am

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in
    Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The style and design look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Kudos

    Reply
    • 6. polkadotsheep.com  |  September 20, 2013 at 7:40 am

      It probably has something to do with a combo between our blog design template and the Chrome browser. I don’t personally use chrome but I will take a look so thanks for alerting me. Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  • 7. Aimee  |  September 20, 2013 at 8:49 am

    I have Chrome and it’s reading
    just fine for me.

    Reply
  • 8. chromecast  |  May 27, 2014 at 2:52 pm

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, because i want enjoyment, as this this site conations really good funny information too.

    Reply
  • 9. Jude  |  October 29, 2016 at 9:21 pm

    Hi I must be doing something wrong as I’m not ending up with same number of stitches each odd row! Help! I’ve unpicked it twice and can’t see my mistake. Is there a common misinterpretation of the pattern?

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


