Breaking the Birthday Knitting Vow

April 11, 2013 at 5:00 am 3 comments

Last year when my son turned 4, I swore I would not try to knit my son a birthday sweater again. He refused to wear that cute little vest with a hood. I decided that birthday knits were fine when he was two with no opinions. But since he had rarely willingly wore the three-year sweater and was now refusing the four-year vest, the birthday knitting was at an end. Well, I succumbed  to whatever it is that makes mothers think “But I have done this for the last three years, I must do it again” and have started this year’s (5 years old) birthday sweater.

J's Birthday sweater

Berroco Vintage in Cast Iron (black), Cherry (red), and Mochi (natural)

I am knitting Spud Murphy designed by Carol Feller. It has stripes, pockets and I cord trim which I love. The pattern is available on Ravelry and in the Knit ‘n Needle Yarn Shoppe for local customers. This sweater doesn’t have very many projects listed in Ravelry, I am not sure why. I am knitting with our favorite yarn for kids, Berroco Vintage. The inspiration for the colors is “pirates.” Overall, the pattern is very straight forward. The sleeves are knit in the round to the point where they are joined with the yoke of the sweater. The body of the sweater is knit in one piece from the bottom. The pockets and trim really do set it apart from other sweaters in my opinion.

I am using US 5 / 3.75 mm needles for the cuff ribbing and US 7 / 4.5 mm for the body. Vintage behaves beautifully at this gauge (18 stitches per 4″/10 cm). The cuffs are a bit tighter than called for because I know my son does not like sleeves hanging over his hands. I am trying to up the odds he will actually wear this sweater more.

My son has started to express more interest in items that have been made just for him. My mom also knits and sews and he is liking those items more these days too. I will let you all know how it goes. I do expect as my boy gets bigger that knitting garments for him will be more of challenge. That is okay. Now I have to meet the April 29th deadline. He was born at 11:56 pm so I have the whole day to get it finished, right?

IMG_7161-002

This awesome shawl is my current “brainless” knitting project. It is my favorite kind of simple knitting project combining with a few details with a favorite yarn. It is the Groovy Shawl by JumperCablesKnitting (available on Ravelry and in store). I was just looking around for a triangle shawl that I could throw around my shoulders easily when this shawl showed up in my Ravelry “friends activity” page. Aimee had favorited as a possible shoppe sample for the Knit ‘n Needle. I knew it was exactly what I was looking for and I had the perfect yarn in the perfect amount sitting in my stash. This Madelinetosh Tosh DK had been in the stash since last spring. The colorway is Opaline (since you will want to know) and it is no longer in stock. But we have many other amazing Madelinetosh Tosh DK colorways. A number of yarns we stock would look great knit into the Groovy Shawl. The other yarn I have my eye on is Berroco Remix, a great 100% recycled fibers yarn (non wool).

Groovy shawl suggest with text

Of I am also working on my Sea of Dreams blanket as part of our current KAL. The KAL is moving right along with new people joining us still. A friend just told me that two ladies at her knit night knitting alone with us too. So the three of them worked on it together. I wonder if next week some more will have joined them. Read the KAL details in these posts (1, 2, 3, 4) here on the blog and chat with us on Ravelry.

I will leave you with a pretty picture. It is a close up of my Groovy Shawl with some color manipulation. I just really like it and wanted to share it with you.

IMG_7169-001

Tell me what your current projects are and do you make birthday knits for children (yours or someone else).

Happy Knitting and enjoy your spring if it has come to you. It is taking its sweet time in my neck of the woods.

By the way, I can’t even wrap my head around the fact that my youngest child is going to be five. How did that happen?

~Angela M.

Entry filed under: Chit Chat, Projects.

Sea of Dreams KAL: Knit In Hem Tutorial Aimee Alexander Designs

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] Breaking the Birthday Knitting Vow (polkadotsheep.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply
  • 2. Aimee Alexander Designs | polkadotsheep  |  April 18, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    […] have been knitting on my Sea of Dreams blanket and my son’s birthday sweater. I must admit due to other unplanned circumstances, my son’s sweater might not be done by his […]

    Reply
  • 3. Jennie  |  April 26, 2013 at 3:26 am

    Take heart. Three-year-olds can be opinionated, but my son is 14 and there is nothing, NOTHING, he likes more than a knitted gift from Mom. He hates store-bought socks (his poor future wife!), and he can’t wait for his latest sweater to be finished.

    Reply

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


