Introducing Andrea Rangel!

July 17, 2013 at 6:00 pm 2 comments

I had seen her designs around Ravelry and in publications. I had given some of them second looks; one I presented to my husband as a sweater idea for him. I had thought I need to keep an eye on this designer, Andrea Rangel.

Then  just before we left for TNNA, I opened Ravelry and this design, Hanalei Poncho, caught my eye.

Hanalei

© Andrea Rangel Used with permission

Now I am not a poncho sort of girl. So I thought it was a passing fancy, just that day’s shiny new thing, that the next day it would be on to something else. But it stuck in my head. Then the very first evening we were at TNNA, Andrea walked by us wearing this lovely garment. Of course being the knitters we are, we noticed the garment before the person and I said “Jamie, there is that poncho I was telling you I saw and loved.”

The next day we had an opportunity to met and chat with Andrea herself. The end result of all this is that Andrea is now working with us at Polkadotsheep and we are now can offer you the Hanalei Poncho and one other pattern on our website.

Andrea lives in the Cowichan Bay area of British Columbia. Her design portfolio is wide-ranging, everything from sweet shawls to manly sweaters and biking pants. Andrea’s design aesthetic  is very influenced by the Pacific Northwest which is a good fit for us being passed in the Inland Northwest in Montana. To find Andrea on Ravelry, her user ID is andreakr.

After meeting Andrea and seeing Hanalei, I decided to go for it and I cast it on when I got home from TNNA and my sister’s house. I had the correct amount of Malabrigo Arroyo in my stash so on to the needles it went. It is now my lake knitting.

Hanalei Ponch, Malabrigo Arroyo in Azules

If you want to knit the Hanalei Poncho here are my recommendations for yarn.

  • Malabrigo Arroyo  – If you enjoy Malabrigo Sock, you will enjoy Arroyo and it is sportweight.
  • Madelinestosh Pashmina  – I am planning to make another Hanalei that is more fancy and this is the yarn I want to use. I am thinking I can wear it over a simple black dress.
  • Blue Sky Alpaca Skinny Cotton – If you want a solid colored Hanalei that has the look of the original, this yarn would be perfect. It is also the perfect summer yarn.

The Hanalei requires 550 yards (503 m) of yarn. With its open lace, it uses surprisingly little yarn for an entire garment. You will also need circular needles with at least a 24″ cable (US 4 and US 9 or size to obtain gauge).

The second pattern we are stocking from Andrea is her Dinar Slippers. These slippers are the perfect summer knitting project; small, portable and great for stocking up for Christmas gifts. Plus, if you make some for yourself, that first chilly day, you will have something warm to slip your feet into and enjoy.

Dinar slippers

© Andrea Rangel Used with permission

Andrea designed the Dinar Slipper with DK yarn. We asked Andrea what yarns at Polkadotsheep would she recommend for the Dinar Slippers. She said “Sweet Georgia DK.” I totally agree. Here are a few color ideas but we have 14 colors in stock at this time. The Dinar Slipper have three sizes, small, medium and large, and you can make any of these sizes with only one skein of Sweet Georgia DK. Yarn yardage requirements are 195 yard – 230 yards (178 – 210 m).

SG DK Dinar Slipper with text

I have two other yarn recommendations for the Dinar Slippers.

  • Berroco Ultra Alpaca – Alpaca is a very warm fiber and feels luxurious on the feet. You will need two skeins to make the largest size but one will work for the other sizes.
  • Malabrigo Rastita – Rastita is the baby sister of Rasta. It is a single ply yarn that is slightly felted. It will not be as durable as the Sweet Georgia DK or Ultra Alpaca long-term since they are plied. However, it will be squishy goodness on your feet. If you primarily wear your slippers while sitting, Rastita would make lovely Dinar slippers. Please note: At the current moment, we only have three colors of Rastita in stock but more colors are on the way.

It is wonderful to be working with Andrea. She is a designer to watch. Look for more of her designs to be paired with our yarns.

You can join me in knitting the Hanalei Poncho if you wish. It is not a formal KAL but feel free to ask questions of me here or over on Ravelry. As a reminder, I am attemptedknitter on Ravelry. You can usually find me through our Ravelry group.

I hope you are enjoying getting to know new designers and yarns through this blog. I enjoy introducing them to you.

Happy Knitting and stay cool (says the girl who is still insisting on knitting with wool at the lake in July)!

~Angela M.

Entry filed under: Featured, New, Patterns, Shoppe News. Tags: , , , , .

Crown Jewel KAL: Entrelac Video Tutorial Knit Collage Yarns and the Clouds Rest Collection

2 Comments Add your own

Share your thoughts

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Pages

Follow us on Pinterest

Tweet, tweet, baa

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your e-mail address to Follow the Flock with new post notices in your inbox

Join 123 other followers


